An Actual Fruit Salad

Standard

An Actual Fruit Salad

When I was very little, I used to be very confused about why I was served a fruit salad with no — salad. Learning later on that salads did not necessarily need to have the leafy greens gave me a short period of salad identity confusion, but to remedy my anxieties I just turn to my favorite type of salad. So easy to make, no need of fancy dressing, bright colors, and filling enough to not have you reaching for the potato chips. Oh right, and its all healthy and stuff.

I used a spring salad mix, sometimes I use just plain spinach, but it depends on the texture you prefer. Just cut up one avocado, 4 strawberries and toss those in. For the dressing take about a half cup of orange juice and a tablespoon of avocado oil (olive oil can substitute), a pinch or two of sugar, and mix it up. You can always adjust the portions to your preference. Many times I end up adding a little more oil to get that dressing consistency. Then just lightly pour that baby over and you have your fruit salad!

Sidenote: Add edamame for a different texture or salt them for side snacks as seen in the photo.

One thought on “An Actual Fruit Salad

  1. Pingback: Cold Weather Salads « jovinacooksitalian

Leave a Reply

